Reading as alternate reality

I don’t watch reality TV, it is definitely not my reality so I gave up on wondering about;

The Kardashians, the bachelor, the 600lb person, the wedding dress show (you can see how much attention I pay.

On the flip side, going through my bookshelves today was a wake-up call. I discovered that I might be fascinated by bigger than life biographies.  Or at least the alternate reality of extreme lives.

There were so many that I had trouble choosing a list of the ones that I would re-read or recommend but the group I came up with are;

  • All women
  • All different backgrounds
  • Have lives totally foreign to my own

Here goes;

House Rules A Memoir by Rachel Sontag

Love, Janis by Laura Joplin

The White Masai An Exotic Tale of Love and Adventure by Corinne Hofmann

The Caged Virgin An Emancipation Proclamation for Women and Islam

by Ayaan Hirsi Ali

Upstairs in the Crazy House the Life of a Psychiatric Survivor by Pat Capponi

 

All great for a variety of reasons and in some places hard to read.  With reality TV you can change the channel but with the books I am afraid to miss something so have to read and sometimes re-read the bits that are hard to take.

I think I am going to pick these up again for another read through, let the alternate reality begin

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

