Short and sweet , what’s in a name

Keeping things short and concise can be so tough to do. Over explaining, over sharing, filling in all of the blanks.

Sometimes effusiveness or details, details , details works for me. I love the essays by David Foster Wallace.  Full frontal details.

Other times though, the K.I.S.S. method is the name of the game.

On my book shelves I could only find one non-fiction book that has a one word titles (at least on my shelves). Seems appropriate

And the award goes to …. Joan Didion for Miami

The rest of the field starts out looking like one word  (one the spine of the book) and then these authors continue on with smaller print which is the extension of the title

Example

Gandhi Portrayal of a Friend by E. Stanley Jones

It seems like the fiction writers think the readers don’t need the extra information as much. Am I wrong?

Some single title books on my shelves

Nausea by Jean Paul Sarte

Portofino by Frank Schaeffer

Hunger by Knut Hamsun

You can probably guess what these books would be about.

My mission now should I choose to accept it is to find one word titles on non-fiction with  no subtitle.

Hmmm

Leave a Reply

