Tickled my fancy

From the book shelves today I wanted to grab ones that grabbed me.

One that I have yet to finish even though I picked it up last year or the year before (Therefore I cannot verify that anyone else would want to read it) Has a fascinating title in any political climate but, maybe especially now in our world vision.

The Sheikh’s Batmobile In Pursuit of American Pop Culture in the Muslim World             By Richard Poplak.

I have only made it to page 24 so far and that is not a reflection on poor writing but more a reflection on how I have been known to skip from book to book and back again.  Thereby losing track of some until I write about them.

I have read two of March Roach’s books.  Non-fiction and niche writing that keeps me coming back for the next one.

The first book was Stiff The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers.

I actually lent this one to an intern at a Trauma Centre and then went out and bought another copy.  I would think you can’t be squeamish to read it but, on the other hand with TV shows and even the news this is pretty tame.

The second book I read by Ms Roach was; Packing for Mars.

What some people will do in the name of science or for a pay cheque is amazing.  It gave me pause to wonder;  who did I think the space agencies practiced on before the real thing?

I am 99.9% sure that I have more books are outside of the romance, mystery, biography sphere.  More on them, once I re-sort the shelves after the latest pull.

 

Leave a Reply

