Odd ducks

Odd ducks or what I like about characters that may me go hmmm.

I have covered probably more than once how much I enjoy reading the novel;         Harold and Maude .  Not sure whom I relate to more.  The one who wants the reaction of his death on his loved ones or the one who is planning their death.

The above is a huge over simplification and it could be the one who was not living fully and the one that was living over the top.

I am on my 4th or 5th read of this little nugget so my bias showing

Have many people read the J.D. Salinger book; Nine Stores?

Most people know Holden Caulfield from Catcher in the Rye.  Holden could definitely fit into the odd duck but, if you have a chance check out the story;  Teddy in the book ;   Nine Stories.  I am betting you will run back through it a few times to get the nuance.

If we want to go real life odd.  Or at least ; did they really, are these real people and situations?

Try ; Belling the Cat By Mordechai Richler.

Love him or hate him , ( and I love to read articles essays and even the Apprenticeship of Duddy Kravitz) . As it says one the dust jacket ‘he has a hatred for scared cows’, therefore one of the good odd?

If I got started on Richler, then we would have to go to Leonard Cohen and Irving Layton.

All for another day.

Happy reading

 

Leave a Reply

