Bow in respect never submission

I am not sure who said to; ‘bow in respect never submission’ but it is something I have taken to heart.

Respect yourself and others but, you can only do this by following what you know to be correct.

Sounds pretty heavy doesn’t it?  A little self help , self care with a dose of spiritualism? Maybe .  The books I pulled today reflect on living your true self in 3 different if all spiritual ways.

These were some of the first books I bought when I don’t think there was a self help section in the local book store.

In fact, the Ram Dass;  The Only Dance There Is copy that I have is now missing the front and back covers.  I haven’t written in it no matter how many times I have ready it but, have cracked the spine so much that the inner pages are shoved in and not attached. I can’t bring myself to buy another copy as I feel it won’t be the same.  Maybe it will lose some of it’s magic?

The same would be true for Shambhala The Sacred Path of the Warrior By Chogyam Trungpa.  The paperback copy I have is; circa 1986.  I have used a series of little copper bookmarks in this one.  Not sure why at this stage because I mostly flip it open and use it as a form of bibliomancy.

“The warrior’s awareness is not based on the training of ultimate paranoia. It is based on the training of ultimate solidity-trusting in basic goodness,” p.52 Bantam paperback

Lastly at least for today is;  The Man Who Planted Trees by Jean Giono.

Just keeping planting and don’t worry about other people.  Left foot in front of the right foot.  You will have to read it to see what I mean.

“To have anything like a precise idea of this exceptional character one must not forget that he worked in total solitude: so total that, toward the end of his life, he lost the habit of speech. Or perhaps it was that he saw no need for it.” p.26  Chelsea Green Publishing

Namaste

 

keep reading

Leave a Reply

