Balanced diet of reading

For the last few days I have been re-reading ; Eichmann in Jerusalem A report on the Banality of Evil By Hannah Arendt.

Even though this is the 3rd time I have read this book, I found myself going back over passages and then forward through a section, backwards to check on a passage to make sure I understood what I had read. It is taking a lot of concentration which is not in and of itself a bad thing.

Truth be told, this books deserves more than one read through . But, the what I found is, I was not able to pick up anything else for thinking about it.  I generally tend to have more than one book or some type of reading material on the go at the same time. Even Flipboard didn’t do it for me, Instagram posts , snippets from Book Review sites.  Nope, back to this book.

I am a fairly quick reader generally but, in 3 days I am on page 124 out of  298 in the paperback edition by Penguin.

Call in the Calvary to balance out this piece reading of history.  Drastic measures were called for, not necessarily fiction; Nora Roberts, Danielle Steele, or other romance. No poetry since I ended up looking at Japanese Death poems.

The book I picked, wait for it, it is as far away from Eichmann and his trial as possible.

Fresh Off The Boat Eddie Huang A Memoir.  So far,  lots of expletives, lots of family dynamics and culture issues (not Eddie’s but other people’s). Perfect quick read and then back to this week’s original pick.

Just saying, there has to be some balance in my reading diet.

keep reading

Leave a Reply

